Holden Caulfield

The story of my life.

A better day.

The breakfast I had while talking with these two nuns. Yammy!!!

Hi everyone. In this post I’m going to tell you about the beginning of the next day after that one which was pretty bad for me. I didn’t sleep too long that night. It was around ten a.m. when I woke up. I felt pretty hungry because the last thing I ate was those two hamburgers I had with Mal Brossard and Ackley. Before I went to eat something I decided to give Sally Hayes a buzz. I knew she was at home because I got a letter from her a couple of weeks ago. I wasn’t too crazy about her but I’d known her for years. So I gave her a buzz and I made a date with her. After that I went out for breakfast. I got a cab and first I went to Grand Central Station. I left all my bags there in one of those strong boxes that they give you a key to. Then I got some breakfast. I was sort of hungry. I went to that little sandwich bar. While I was having my breakfast, these two nuns with suitcases came in and sat down next to me. We struck up a conversation. One of them was collecting money for a charity around Christmas time. I gave her ten bucks for that charity. The other nun was an English teacher so I talked for a while with her about that as I liked English. It was the only subject I didn’t flunk. Anyway, we talked for ten minutes or something and then they got up to go and I did something very stupid. I was smoking a cigarette and when I stood up to say good-bye I blew some smoke on their faces. I didn’t mean to do it. I apologised like a madman…Fortunately, they were very polite and kind and nice about it but it was still very embarrassing, anyway.

After I had my breakfast. It was still early and I had about two hours before a date with Sally. I started walking over towards Broadway. I wanted to find a record store that was open on Sunday. I wanted to get this record for Phoebe called “Little Shirley Beans”. It was very hard to get it. It wasn’t so cold as the day before, but the sun still wasn’t out and it wasn’t too nice for walking. However, there was one nice thing. There was a family that just came out of church – a father, a mother and a little kid about six years old. Parents were just walking and talking and they didn’t pay too much attention to their child. He was making out like he was walking a very straight line, just like the kids do, and he was singing all the way. When I got closer I heard him singing clearly. It was a song “If a body catch a body coming through the rye.” It made me feel better and not so depressed any more. Broadway was full of people. Everybody was all dressed up because it was Sunday. They were all going to a movies. I think they were doing it just because they didn’t have anything more interesting to do. I couldn’t understand it.

Finally, I found a record store and I was able to buy that copy of the “Little Shirley Beans”. It cost five bucks but I didn’t care. After that I went to get the tickets for an opera, to which I was going with Sally. I knew she liked Lunts’ show so I took two for it. Then I went to the park. I hoped that I’d meet Phoebe there, as she used to go there for roller-skating. I didn’t find her there. However, there was a little child. I tried to get to know if she knew Phoebe and maybe she could tell me where she was then, but she couldn’t tell me that. As I still had some time, I went to the museum of natural history. I was thinking all the way about the times when I used to go to my old school, where Phoebe used to go there as well and about our trips to the museum. It was a great time. But when I came to the museum I changed my mind about going in. So, I just caught a cab to Biltmore for a date with Sally.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

