Holden Caulfield

The story of my life.

Breaking into my own house.

The building where our house was.

Hello everyone! This post will be about my trip to my own house. I went there just because I wanted to talk with my sister, Phoebe before I realized my big plan. When I got to my house, I had to make sort of breaking into it. Firstly, I had to persuade an elevator boy that I was going to my neighbour, Dicksteins’. He wasn’t too clever so I didn’t have to talk much. He just picked me up on my floor. As I came into my house, I tried to be as quiet as it was possible. I went to Phoebe’s room and I recalled that when D.B. was in Hollywood she stayed in his big room. So I went to his room and I saw her sleeping. I didn’t want to wake her at once. I walked around the room looking at all that stuff and I sat by her desk to see her notebooks. I liked looking through her notebooks because she had some funny notes, just like all children have. Then I lit a cigarette and I finally woke her up. She was very happy to see me. She told me that parents were at the party and they wouldn’t be back till very late. She asked me why I was home then, because I was supposed to be on Wednesday. She fastly recognized that I got kicked from school. She took it very emotionally. She said that our dad would kill me but I knew it wouldn’t be that bad, but she didn’t want to talk with me. She put a pillow over her head and I couldn’t make her put it off. So, I went to the living room to take some cigarettes from the box on the table. I ran out of mine. When I came back I made her talk to me. She wanted to know why I had got expelled from school, so I told her about all the phony guys in Pencey and those teachers that I just hated. She told me something that was true and what knocked me out at the same time. She told me that I didn’t like anything and what knocked me out was the fact that I really couldn’t think of one thing that I liked very much. I tried to find one thing that I really liked but it was hard. I talked with Phoebe about my plans for future, but it wasn’t so easy to do. Finally, I said that I couldn’t sit there no longer because parents could came back anytime. I decided that I’d phone Mr Antolini, my old English teacher. He lived in New York and he liked me. He agreed to take me for some time. Then I just wanted to spend some more time with Phoebe. I made her dance with me. We danced some steps and at last Phoebe wasn’t so angry with me. But when we were talking, we heard somebody was getting into house. I quickly got into closet and turn the light off. When parents came in, my mother noticed that Phoebe was not sleeping. She also felt smoke so Phoebe lied that she smoked one cigarette, just because she couldn’t sleep. At last my mother believed her and let her go to sleep. When Phoebe got back into her room I asked her if she had any dough, because all my money was in the box at the station. She gave me all her dough for Christmas and then I left our house and went to Mr Antolini.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

