Holden Caulfield

The story of my life.

One more problem.

It's that pair of gloves, which they stole from me in Pencey.

This post will be another continuation of that unfortunate night. I’ll start from getting back to Edmont’s. I walked all the way back to the hotel. I didn’t feel like walking but I just didn’t want to get into another cab. It wasn’t snowing at all, but it was freezing cold, and I took my hat out of my pocket and put it on. My hands were freezing and I didn’t have my gloves because somebody stole them in Pencey. Even if I knew who it was, I wouldn’t do anything about it. I wouldn’t even take a sock at him. I’m not good at it. I’m more like a pacifist and I never care too much if I lose something. That’s my trouble.

When I got back to the hotel, I got into that big mess. I got in the elevator where the elevator guy asked me if I was looking for fun that night and offered me a prostitute for a night. I was so lonely that I agreed. Then I went to my room and I got prepared for it. When she came in I wanted to talk to her first, but she wasn’t too friendly. Then I didn’t know why I got out of mood and I wanted her just to spend some time with me not to be alone. I told her I would pay her but she didn’t want to stay with me. She took the cash but she wanted more than a guy in elevator said. I didn’t give her more, though, and it was a big mistake. She went out, of course, without any discussion. When she got out, it was quite late so I decided that I’d go to bed then. I washed myself up and I got into bed and started to smoke. All of a sudden, while I was laying and smoking, somebody knocked at the door. After a while I found out that it was that guy form elevator, Maurice with the prostitute. He wanted the rest of the money that I didn’t want to give to the girl. I didn’t want to let him in but he made me do that. He entered the room with that girl and he beat me on the floor. I just didn’t want to give him additional five bucks, because at first he told me that it’ll be five bucks only but then they wanted twice as much. However, when he was holding me on the floor, the prostitute took the five bucks from my pocket and they came out. I was knocked out. I went to the bathroom and I spend almost an hour taking a bath. Then I got back to bed, even though, I wasn’t too tired to get to sleep.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

